PlanetSquires Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Firelines  (Read 705 times)

Petrus Vorster

  • FireFly3 Registered User
  • Senior FireFly Member
  • *
  • Posts: 346
Firelines
« on: February 21, 2017, 12:43:45 PM »

Hi All

I have used the Firelines tool of Paul in a project just to create a visible divider between a few controls.
Interestingly, when say another Form opens over it, then its fine, but some pop-ups like message-boxes will delete a portion of the line.
That looks quite awkward on a form having a divider line with missing bits and pieces.

Any ideas?
Logged

Josť Roca

  • FireFly3 Registered User
  • Master FireFly Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2726
    • Josť Roca Software
Re: Firelines
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2017, 02:27:52 PM »

Redraw the form.

Petrus Vorster

  • FireFly3 Registered User
  • Senior FireFly Member
  • *
  • Posts: 346
Re: Firelines
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2017, 05:12:38 PM »

Ok, but how do i know when this happens, because it only happens while the program runs.
On what occasion/trigger/event will one do that?
Logged

Petrus Vorster

  • FireFly3 Registered User
  • Senior FireFly Member
  • *
  • Posts: 346
Re: Firelines
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2017, 05:19:22 PM »

This actually only happens during the event where two different TEXTBOXES that were set to NUMBERS ONLY receives an invalid key.
The windows pop-up appears about the invalid character.
Then it deletes the FIRELINE in different sizes and places.
This is annoying.

Image 1 shows the form while running correctly.
Image 2 Shows textbox1 (PO Box numbers) and textbox 7 (Cell numbers). Both these are set to NUMBERS ONLY
Image 3 shows what happens to the line if there was an invalid character warning in any of the two textboxes. The lie is deleted in various lengths.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2017, 05:25:27 PM by Petrus Vorster »
Logged

Paul Squires

  • Administrator
  • Master FireFly Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8088
  • Windows 10
    • PlanetSquires Software
Re: Firelines
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2017, 05:38:57 PM »

How about in the WM_PAINT handler for the FORM, you make a call to FF_CONTROL_REDRAW( FireLinesHandle ) and see what happens?

Logged
Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
FireFly Visual Designer, WinFBE Editor

Petrus Vorster

  • FireFly3 Registered User
  • Senior FireFly Member
  • *
  • Posts: 346
Re: Firelines
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2017, 02:50:47 PM »

It works, but i had to put it three places.
In the wm_paint, and killfocus of the two textboxes.

You can still clearly see the deletion of the line, but at least it repaints it afterwards.

Perhaps i should just changes the textboxes and prevent the characters with code iso the setting?
Logged

Petrus Vorster

  • FireFly3 Registered User
  • Senior FireFly Member
  • *
  • Posts: 346
Re: Firelines
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2017, 02:58:33 PM »

Yes, that work so much easier....
 :-[

Where is the corner i have to go stand again? LOL
Logged