• Welcome to PlanetSquires Forums.

Usage of Fixed Length Strings

Started by Jeff Marshall, March 10, 2024, 10:09:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeff Marshall

Hello all.  I am a developer / maintainer on the freebasic compiler project.

I have been recently exploring freebasic's handling of all string types getting prepared to make another go at improving a number of fbc string internals and what is offered to users.

We are working on a change for STRING*N, that basically makes it compatible with QB, QB64 (and powerbasic, I think)
- occupies exactly N bytes
- no implicit null terminator
- padded with spaces on initialization and assignment
- can have embedded chr(0)'s
- for the most part is like QB's handling of STRING*N

However, this change will almost certainly break user code that employs STRING*N (which currently is equivalent to ZSTRING*(N+1) )

It seems that usage of STRING*N is rare but not never.  My presumption is that over the years ZSTRING*N has been much more favoured over STRING*N since they behave nearly identically but ZSTRING*N tends to describe the behaviour better.

I have been trying to go through some of the larger code bases looking to find where STRING*N has been used and what impact it will have on users and developers.

---
When I look at the WinFBE and WinFBX code bases I see that STRING*N has been used a few times, but overall mostly not.  In some cases ZSTRING*N is probably a good choice too.

I am trying to get a feel for motivation for programmers choosing STRING*N.

My concern is that perhaps there is a usage of STRING*N that is intentional and that I have missed the usage.  If there is, perhaps this can be addressed.

Any feed back is appreciated.

Paul Squires

Looks like Frank ran into a couple of the new SPACE issues using code from Jose's WinFBX library.
https://www.planetsquires.com/protect/forum/index.php?topic=4752.msg36080;topicseen#msg36080