• Welcome to PlanetSquires Forums.

Help with a Color Picker?

Started by chjmartin2, December 05, 2023, 07:21:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chjmartin2

Hi,

I have an application that converts images to be able to be displayed on a Bally Astrocade.  The original code just used Screenres but I have always wanted to make a real GUI application.  I have used WinFBE for quite some time and have given Visual Designer a go.  I have gotten really far.  I'm not a great coder to begin with, I never use pointers or subroutines and I love goto.  I have made it through.  Anyway, I want to create a color picker form.  I have an image that has a matrix of 16x16 boxes with 256 unique colors.  I want to an event when the user clicks on the image where I can tell what color they clicked on.  I have used e.x and e.y and tried to use form.top and form.left but none of those numbers make sense to figure out the relative position of the mouse during the click.  I would appreciate help because the absolute x,y values on the screen seem to be not directly useful.  Open to any suggestions on how I could do this?

Thanks,

Chris

Paul Squires

Hi Chris, I will take a look at this later today and see if I can gather together some code that will help you.

What code did you use to create the 16x16 matrix of "boxes". Are those boxes Labels? Buttons?

Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
WinFBE Editor and Visual Designer

Paul Squires

Depending on how you created your 16x16 matrix, you could respond to "click" events from a Label/Button. However, if these boxes are drawn on the form (which is what I think you are doing) then you are on the right track of using e.x and e.y to determining where your mouse clicked. I am thinking that you might be getting caught in the problem that the e.x and e.y values are SCREEN coordinates whereas your 16x16 matrix are in CLIENT coordinates relative to the Form.

The following code should help:

''
''