• Welcome to PlanetSquires Forums.

resistance is futile

Started by raymw, March 14, 2017, 07:25:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

raymw

Having had Paul’s approval, I’ve decided to document on here the steps involved in my latest project, since as I’m a newbie on here, I’ll always being asking for your help, and thought you may as well understand where I’m try to go with freebasic and firefly. This may involve more than the usual sparse background discussion, but that is one of the advantages of a forum such as this, I think. I no longer write software for others, but find it to be interesting, and a reasonably safe mental exercise.

So, some background.

20 years or so ago, I decided to get a software related qualification. At that time I was involved with OS2, and I decided to use IBM visual Age Smalltalk, to devise what I thought was a unique method for solving current flow in a network of resistors. There were other methods around at that time, but I wanted to demonstrate the application of object oriented design and programming. I had considerable help from a couple of folk at IBM, and was told it would take a year for me to unplug my brain, and plug it in sideways to get into the oo way of thinking. They were right, in what they said. 30 years before that, I was operating, for a few months, a large network analyser, a sort of network simulator/analogue computer, programmed by plugging leads, and setting values by dials, analysing current flow in cable networks for an electricity supply company â€" any calculations were undertaken by using a slide rule.

If you don’t understand electrickery, there are only a few basic principles you’ll need to know. The first is to learn a bit of Latin â€" Vir â€" which translates to ‘man’, as I recall from my school days.