PlanetSquires Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Menu accelerators not responding.  (Read 665 times)

Elias Montoya

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 285
  • Feeling like creating a Linux compiler. :)
Menu accelerators not responding.
« on: July 07, 2010, 05:28:37 PM »


 In my compiled program, If i click the menu options they commands work OK, but if i press the keyboard shortcut, nothing happens. For example, "find" is F3. clicking menu command works OK,
but pressing F3 does nothing. The focus is in EDM32. Any ideas why?
Logged
Win7, iMac x64 Retina display 5K, i7-5820K 4.4 ghz, 32GB RAM, All updates applied. - Firefly 3.70.

Roger Garstang

  • Master Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1360
Re: Menu accelerators not responding.
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2010, 10:43:02 AM »

Does EDM32 capture the F3 already?  Try another key combo to see if it works.  Usually Alt+keys do other things too, so try something like Ctrl+F and see if it works, then you know it is the control and you will need to process it in there and ignore it or pass it to the form.
Logged

Paul Squires

  • Administrator
  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8925
  • Windows 10
    • PlanetSquires Software
Re: Menu accelerators not responding.
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2010, 12:15:42 PM »

Is the EDM32 control on a modal or non-modal form?
Logged
Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
WinFBE Editor and Visual Designer

Elias Montoya

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 285
  • Feeling like creating a Linux compiler. :)
Re: Menu accelerators not responding.
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2010, 06:17:55 PM »

Roger, No. and yes. other key works. just f3 does not.

 Paul, non-modal. I know that opens way for trouble. What should i look for?
Logged
Win7, iMac x64 Retina display 5K, i7-5820K 4.4 ghz, 32GB RAM, All updates applied. - Firefly 3.70.

Paul Squires

  • Administrator
  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8925
  • Windows 10
    • PlanetSquires Software
Re: Menu accelerators not responding.
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2010, 08:34:33 AM »

just f3 does not.

Are you running a modified version of EDM32? It seems odd that other keys work but F3 does not. Also, did you add any code to FF_PumpHook to filter the F3 key?
Logged
Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
WinFBE Editor and Visual Designer

Roger Garstang

  • Master Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1360
Re: Menu accelerators not responding.
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2010, 04:02:48 PM »

Might check for other apps creating some type of global capture too. Screen Capture programs, or maybe some Search Bar since F3 is often used to search.
Logged

Elias Montoya

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 285
  • Feeling like creating a Linux compiler. :)
Re: Menu accelerators not responding.
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2010, 10:37:29 PM »


 Paul, that was it, the pumphook had some unnecessary code that was bloking f3. :)

 Thanx!

 Unfortunately that didnt work for ALT+F... i will see whats going on. By the way,
is there a way to add custom shortcuts? im a bit rusty with menus.

Logged
Win7, iMac x64 Retina display 5K, i7-5820K 4.4 ghz, 32GB RAM, All updates applied. - Firefly 3.70.