PlanetSquires Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab  (Read 615 times)

Robert Eaton

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab
« on: July 17, 2010, 12:38:35 PM »

Don't think I've seen this reported yet. This has been bugging me for a while and finally found it!

1- Start a new project (everything default).
2- Add a second form. (Form 2 is now visible)
3- Double-click the IDE tab on Form 2 to take you to the code page for Form 2.
4- Now double-click the IDE tab for Form 1.
For me, this crashes the FF IDE every time. Apparently I double-click the tabs at times when it's not required.

FF 3.09
Win XP
Logged

Cho Sing Kum

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 174
Re: IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2010, 01:07:38 AM »

I tried the sequence several times and the IDE did not crash. Not even once.

The cause may be something else.

Logged

Brian Chirgwin

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 116
Re: IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2010, 08:57:30 AM »


I've tried this too. Doesn't crash for me either.

Logged

Douglas McDonald

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • PB, FF3,VB6 , B4A, Proton PDS, Mikroe Basic
    • RedforkSoftware,LLC
Re: IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2010, 01:37:36 PM »

Doesn't crash for me ether. ver 3.09 win7 x64

Doug
Logged
Doug McDonald
KD5NWK
www.redforksoftware.com
Is that 1's and 0's or 0's and 1's?

Robert Eaton

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2010, 01:58:55 PM »

I think I have a better handle on it now.
I believe it has something to do with clicking while a FF form is in the process of redrawing. Harder to do on a faster machine. (I use a little Toshiba netbook most of the time.) So doing a reboot and with nothing else running, it doesn't crash here either.

However, if I add a bunch of controls to a form (which slows down the redraw), the problem comes back. (I originally discovered this in a project that had a lot of controls.)

I'll check this out on one of my faster machines (that are running Vista) and if crashes there, I'll post a sample project later.

Thanks,
Bob
Logged

Robert Eaton

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2010, 09:31:42 PM »

With the attached project I can get my Vista Laptop to crash. (Dell XPS 1530 with 4 gigs of ram.)

But, it usually takes takes a while, double-clicking back and forth between the tabs, before it finally locks up.

The project is simply two forms, with a bunch of controls on one of them.
Logged

Cho Sing Kum

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 174
Re: IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2010, 06:22:11 AM »

I can replicate the crash.

Ensure that Form1 is in form view (this is important).
Then click on Form2 tab to make it the active tab.
Now save the project and exit.

Open the project.
Double click on Form1 tab (must be double-click).
Crash.

I notice that the FireFly Workspace (on the right of screen shot)
is blank at the time of crash.


Logged

Paul Squires

  • Administrator
  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8905
  • Windows 10
    • PlanetSquires Software
Re: IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2010, 07:49:19 AM »

Yup, you're right. Double-click crash...... I'll check into it today and get a fix.
Logged
Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
WinFBE Editor and Visual Designer

Paul Squires

  • Administrator
  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8905
  • Windows 10
    • PlanetSquires Software
Re: IDE Crash when double-clicking an IDE tab
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2010, 08:59:04 AM »

This was a hard bug to track down. Doubleclicking causes four Windows messages to be created. In addition, my special tab control created notification messages as well for the single and doubleclick. The problem seemed to be that the PropertyList would get confused as to what Form/Control was active between the time of the various messages.

I added code to repopulate the PropertyList prior to the final doubleclick notification being processed and that seems to have corrected the problem.
Logged
Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
WinFBE Editor and Visual Designer