PlanetSquires Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users  (Read 9141 times)

Paul Squires

  • Administrator
  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8848
  • Windows 10
    • PlanetSquires Software
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2016, 07:39:09 PM »

lol!  Well, I guess I will have to continue writing the grid after all.  :)
Logged
Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
WinFBE Editor and Visual Designer

Jean-pierre Leroy

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • expect nothing, be prepared for everything ...
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #16 on: April 18, 2016, 04:58:08 AM »

> How do you translate this line of code in PowerBASIC (my question is on the Cast operator) ?
You can't. You have to fill a variable and pass the address of the string text (VARPTR for ASCIIZ, STRPTR for STRING)
Jose, thank you for your answer.
Logged

Jean-pierre Leroy

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • expect nothing, be prepared for everything ...
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #17 on: April 18, 2016, 05:06:02 AM »

Sorry, but I'm not going to use it. I have made a test and isn't adequate for High DPI applications.
@Jose : Thank you for the test.

@Jose, @Paul
I will create another thread about yet another grid called Simple Grid (32 bits, 64 bits, Unicode and C source code available).
I've compiled the source with PellesC and created the 32 bits and 64 bits DLL (they are not available on CodeProject.com).
More info about Simple Grid : http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/681771/Simple-Grid-A-Win-message-based-grid-control
I hope Simple Grid will be High DPI aware.

Logged

Jean-pierre Leroy

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • expect nothing, be prepared for everything ...
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #18 on: April 19, 2016, 09:50:44 AM »

Attached is a simple FreeBasic FireFly project showing a demo of the grid.
Hi Paul,

David sent me a 64 bits version of the DLL for test; I swith your FireFly for FreeBASIC demo project to 64 bits.
I get this error message when I try to compile the project.
Any ideas how to solve it ?
Logged

Josť Roca

  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3200
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #19 on: April 19, 2016, 11:02:21 AM »

Change

CAST(HMENU, IDC_FRMMAIN_ZEEGRID)

to

CAST(HMENU, CAST(LONG_PTR, IDC_FRMMAIN_ZEEGRID))

Josť Roca

  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3200
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #20 on: April 19, 2016, 11:04:50 AM »

If you're going to use FreeBasic, learn how CAST works, because you're going to have to use it more often that any other FB function.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2016, 05:59:42 PM by Jose Roca »
Logged

Jean-pierre Leroy

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • expect nothing, be prepared for everything ...
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #21 on: April 19, 2016, 12:21:37 PM »

If you're goign to use FreeBasic, learn how CAST works, because you're going to have to use it more often that any other FB function.
@Jose, thank you for your help; it works now. And yes I will probably use more and more often FireFly for FreeBASIC. I will learn how to use CAST. I promise you.

@Paul,  in this specific case the code in the FRMMAIN_ZEEGRID_INIT handler is generated directly by FireFly ... so I think that you should adapt this code (if possible) depending on the mode 32 bits and/or 64 bits. Is-it possible ?
Logged

Jean-pierre Leroy

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • expect nothing, be prepared for everything ...
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #22 on: April 19, 2016, 12:28:02 PM »

But apparently it's only 32-bit, isn't it?
@Jose: As mentioned earlier, David sent me a 64 bits version of the DLL for test. I use it with FireFly for FreeBASIC 64 bits ... and so far so good.
Logged

Paul Squires

  • Administrator
  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8848
  • Windows 10
    • PlanetSquires Software
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #23 on: April 19, 2016, 05:39:18 PM »

@Paul,  in this specific case the code in the FRMMAIN_ZEEGRID_INIT handler is generated directly by FireFly ... so I think that you should adapt this code (if possible) depending on the mode 32 bits and/or 64 bits. Is-it possible ?

Thanks Jean-Pierre, I have now corrected the code generation for Custom Controls to eliminate this compile error. The code is the same for both 32 and 64 bits.

Logged
Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
WinFBE Editor and Visual Designer

Jean-pierre Leroy

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • expect nothing, be prepared for everything ...
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #24 on: April 20, 2016, 08:22:53 AM »

But apparently it's only 32-bit, isn't it?
David Hillard has officially released a 64 bits version of his grid ZeeGrid.

Announcement on his website:
http://www.kycsepp.com/ZeeGrid_Docs/zeegrid_build_37.html
Logged

James Fuller

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 283
  • FF3 User
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2016, 04:19:39 PM »


One item I found missing is a combo box cell.
I used the old FarPoint Spread DLL (2.5/3.0) as my primary data input device with PowerBASIC back in my contracting days and most of the data forms I designed had at at least one static data item that the user selected via a cell combo box.

James


Logged

Jean-pierre Leroy

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • expect nothing, be prepared for everything ...
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #26 on: April 20, 2016, 04:55:23 PM »

James,

I will take a look at FarPoint Spread DLL (2.5/3.0).

Regarding ZeeGrid it is possible to set a combo box at the cell level; there is a notification message called %ZGN_LOADCOMBO that allow to do that at cell level;you can have a look at the screenshot below.


Logged

James Fuller

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 283
  • FF3 User
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #27 on: April 21, 2016, 08:24:12 AM »

Is it possible to do this with zeegrid?
This uses the row number col as a label to what is wanted in a one col grid.

James
Logged

Jean-pierre Leroy

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • expect nothing, be prepared for everything ...
Re: ZeeGrid a new and free grid available for PowerBASIC and Firefly users
« Reply #28 on: April 21, 2016, 01:16:50 PM »

Is it possible to do this with zeegrid?
This uses the row number col as a label to what is wanted in a one col grid.
James
I will try to do this kind of Grid with ZeeGrid; at least it is possible with MLG (MyLittleGrid) :
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]