PlanetSquires Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: WinFBE 3.0.0 BETA 3 - find/replace dialog and loss of window focus  (Read 238 times)

Bruce Huber

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59

Paul, I already mentioned part of this on the main BETA 3 thread - but there is more to it so I'm breaking it out into its own post...

(previous comment) - On x64, when typing into the find/replace text fields, it is often losing focus and further typing just goes into the bit-bucket somewhere.

(additionally) - On x64, when the find/replace dialog is present - if I place the focus into the main text body and then paste something into the text or do a hotkey that takes a screenshot... the window's focus is lost and further typing just goes into the bit-bucket somewhere.

Thanks!
CBruce

Logged

Paul Squires

  • Administrator
  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9497
  • Windows 10
    • PlanetSquires Software
Re: WinFBE 3.0.0 BETA 3 - find/replace dialog and loss of window focus
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2022, 08:20:59 AM »

Thanks Bruce, I will investigate!
Logged
Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
WinFBE Editor and Visual Designer

Bruce Huber

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: WinFBE 3.0.0 BETA 3 - find/replace dialog and loss of window focus
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2022, 11:45:36 AM »

About the (additionally) above:

It looks like the cursor is jumping back to the find/replace dialog when the code window loses focus.
Logged

Bumblebee

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: WinFBE 3.0.0 BETA 3 - find/replace dialog and loss of window focus
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2022, 06:26:24 AM »

I have long had issues with controlling focus in forms. It doesn't behave as expected, and I have to include SetFocus commands to compensate.

There's a bug somewhere in the framework!

Simplest example:
Create a form, put a textbox on it, and save as an executable.

Runtime issues:
1. Whenever the form window loses focus, then regains focus, the textbox will not have focus. TAB or RIGHT, DOWN arrows have to be pressed. Or you have to click on the text field.
2. When the textbox receives focus, it is in a Select All state. As if a CTRL+A had been issued.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2022, 06:46:52 AM by Bumblebee »
Logged

Paul Squires

  • Administrator
  • Guru Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9497
  • Windows 10
    • PlanetSquires Software
Re: WinFBE 3.0.0 BETA 3 - find/replace dialog and loss of window focus
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2022, 07:20:24 AM »

(previous comment) - On x64, when typing into the find/replace text fields, it is often losing focus and further typing just goes into the bit-bucket somewhere.
I have not been able to replicate this problem on my machine yet. The losing of focus happens as you are typing text into either the find or replace textboxes? You are not using any hotkeys or keyboard shortcuts as you are typing?

Quote
(additionally) - On x64, when the find/replace dialog is present - if I place the focus into the main text body and then paste something into the text or do a hotkey that takes a screenshot... the window's focus is lost and further typing just goes into the bit-bucket somewhere.
Thanks, I was able to replicate this problem and I have fixed it.
Logged
Paul Squires
PlanetSquires Software
WinFBE Editor and Visual Designer